How do I download and restore files using the Recycle Bin?

How do I download and restore files using the Recycle Bin?

What is the Recycle Bin?

The Recycle Bin is a feature that provides a safety net when deleting external files such as, WORD, EXCEL or PDF. When you delete these type of workpapers from your engagement, it is temporarily moved to the Recycle Bin for a maximum of 90 days.


This gives you the opportunity to recover these files that were deleted either intentionally or by accident. 


Note: The Recycle Bin only supports external third-party files such as WORD, EXCEL or PDF. It does not support Smart Engagement document types such as checklists.




Can I ‘Restore’ workpapers directly from the Recycle Bin?

No. There is currently no direct restore feature in the recycle bin.

In order to restore the workpaper back to the document screen, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Recycle Bin located at the bottom of the Left-panel.

  2. Locate the Document you wish to restore.

  3. Press the more actions “...” button and select Download. This will download a local copy to your computer.

  4. Re-upload the workpaper to the Document Screen.






Does the Recycle Bin store my deleted workpapers indefinitely?

No. Please read the Data recovery limitations which you can access via the Recycle Bin. Data is retained for 90 days before it is permanently deleted


Can I replace an existing workpaper by drag and drop?

The Smart Engagement Document Manager screen allows you to drag an external workpaper such as, WORD, EXCEL and PDF to the document screen.

This allows you to replace an existing external document on the document manager by drag and dropping the updated workpaper over the top of the existing document. You will then be prompted to:

  1. Remove sign-offs - This means any existing document sign-offs will be removed if you select Yes. No is selected by default.

  2. Confirm - This will confirm the replacement of the document you have selected


Someone accidentally replaced my final workpaper

If another team member has accidentally replaced your version of an external workpaper, you are able to restore your version for a maximum of 90 days.


  1. Locate the document you wish to restore and press the more actions “...” button.

  2. Select View File History. This will open the File Versions screen.

  3. Review the File Versions listed and press the more actions “...” button and select Restore. This will reinstate the appropriate version back on the Document Manager.