What is the difference between Sign out and Check out

What is the difference between Sign out and Check out

The difference between Signing out and Checking out an engagement file is as follows:

Sign out 

This feature allows the user to sign out a copy of the entire engagement file to a new location, leaving a read-only copy behind at the original location. This is most commonly used if:
  • A user is planning to take a copy of the file offsite to the client; or
  • A user is the only person working on the file in the office and would rather work on the hard drive than the network.
Check out

This feature allows the user to check out individual components (for example; documents or adjusting entries) of an engagement file. During the check out process, Working Papers makes a copy of the entire master file in a second location and allows the user who checked-out the engagement to make changes to the selected components. 

Documents and adjusting entries that are checked out by the user show a red check mark against them, as seen in the example of the Checked out copy.



Why should you Sign out and Check out?

- Working on your hard drive will ensure faster performance.

- Instantly creates two copies of the engagement file – useful for backups.

- The copy on the network will now be read only – useful for control of versions.

Note: Networks and servers are useful for storing data, but the above features should be used to ensure fast performance and managed version control.
Other users within the master copy of the file will have the checked out documents appear grey. These documents can be opened in read-only mode only.

This feature is most commonly used when:

- Multiple users are planning to work on an engagement file offsite at the client’s office; or

- Multiple users are planning to work on an engagement file in the office on their hard drives.


Note:

- CaseView documents are always closed during any check out operation to ensure that they are not locked.

- When files are checked out, the Lock Down feature (Engagement | Lockdown) is not available.

- After a file has passed the document completion date and lockdown occurs, the file cannot be unlocked until all files checked out before lockdown occurred have been checked in.

- When a locked down file is checked into the locked down the master, all lock down milestones are regenerated with the newly introduced data.

- When Signing / Checking out a file, regular back-ups are still required.