How do I lock down or unlock a CaseWare file

How do I lock down or unlock a CaseWare file

Lock down allows the user to comply with the established standards governing the documentation an auditor should prepare and retain in connection with engagements such as audit of financial statements, audit of internal controls over financial reporting and reviews of interim financial information.

Note: This is not the same as Protection / Security. 

To lock down an engagement file:

1. From the menus, select Engagement | Lock Down. The Engagement Lock down Wizard opens welcoming you.



2. Select when to lock down the report and other relevant information (See attached documentation for further information).

3. Click Next. The Lock down Considerations page of the wizard opens. 

4. Select the actions you wish to be completed automatically before the file locks down (See attached documentation for further information).

5. Click Next. If multiple entities exist in a client file or more than one reporting period is available for selection, the Lock down Context page opens where you can assign context and periods to documents whose properties are set to Default Context and Current Period. This page does not appear if multiple entities and reporting periods do not exist in the file and you can skip to the next step.

6. Click Next. The Engagement Lock down Wizard Complete page opens and identifies when lock down will occur (i.e. immediately or after the document completion date. If needed enter the password).

7. Click Finish. The lock down process will begin.

Note: If the lock down was set to occur after the document completion date, then the file will remain open until that time. After the document completion date ticks over, the lock down process will occur the next time the file is opened.

To temporarily unlock a locked engagement file:

1. From the menus, select Engagement | Unlock. The File Locked Down dialog box opens (if security is enabled, enter password first).



2. Type a reason for unlocking the file and click OK. The explanation is saved to the history and the engagement file is now unlocked. 

Documents, in the document manager, will retain the locked icon, but the user has full access to the menu commands. It will remain unlocked until the user either closes or relocks the engagement file (From the menus, select Engagement | Relock).